Focus Hocus-Pocus

“What gets your focus gets you.” Mike Wells      http://abidinglife.com/2009/

Mike Wells, a beautiful servant of Christ, died one year ago today. Mike taught me what it means to abide in Christ. He illuminated Colossians 1:27: “Christ in you, the hope of glory!” He lived his ministry tagline: “There’s nothing the nearness of Christ cannot overcome.” Mike taught me so much in the twelve years I knew him, directly and in his books and teachings. “Focus on sin increases sin.” “Christian life is not struggling to attain, it is recognizing what you have.” “Christian life is not a life of imitating Jesus, it is a life of recognizing Him.”

Once I talked to Mike when I had been badly hurt by a friend, someone I was always there for, but she was not there for me. “I care more than other people do,” I lamented to Mike. “Maybe I need to care less.” He said something I’ve never forgotten. “God made you to care. If you care less because you were hurt, you become a distortion of who you were meant to be.” That was so true, and applies in so many areas of my life. He never knew the full impact he had on people around the world. Perhaps God prefers it that way… helps facilitate focus on God instead of ourselves.

This morning, my friend Shelley emailed me: “Mike always said, ‘What gets your focus gets you.’ Well, Jesus got him!”

Yes indeed, Jesus got him. And because he chose to be see-through, we all saw Jesus more clearly.

6 thoughts on “Focus Hocus-Pocus

  1. Yes, there were many of us who were blessed by Jesus life lived through Mike! He had one message”Christ IN YOU, the hope of glory! Whatever the circumstance, when we SEE HIM in it–we are free–and we can REST!

  2. Thank you. I’m reminded that there is no resurrection without crucifixion, no new life without first death… and how we resist the death. Also, I agree, we do distort ourselves all the time, to avoid being hurt (so we think). 🙂 Blessings to you!

  3. Wonderful inspritational thoughts here. How many times do we decide, of our own accord to act a certain way, thereby distorting ourselves from who God made us to be. I’m sorry for your loss, but what a legacy he left.

Leave a Reply

