What’s Possible for YOU?

Journals2I stood in the office store and stared at the beautifully artsy notebooks. Covers with hand-drawn birds or stylized print. I said to the older woman next to me: “I just love new notebooks – they represent such possibility!” I think she muttered, “Mm-hhm,” then moved to another aisle. Well, it’s true. Something about the blank pages, the open question, the clear slate on which to think and create! The hardest part seems to be shutting down the clutter in my brain to give me room to think. Isn’t that one reason we love vacations, to stop daily life that crowds around us so we can enjoy a refreshed heart and mind?

Getting Things Done guru David Allen says never to carry anything around in your brain — the brain is not to manage the logistics of your life (clean kitchen, change oil, check on mom), but the screen on which you interact with life as it comes at you. Instead, “dump” your brain into a system from which you can manage your tasks (calendar, task manager). Then your brain is free to create. That’s what notebooks represent to me: the blank space on which to create. I knew I loved them for a reason. Perhaps notebooks are not so much for to-do lists, what with everything is on computer now. But maybe that’s all the more reason to have a clean, crisp notebook. Just a place to write, draw, create.

Sometimes I collect quotes in notebooks. Sometimes I’ve just written because I like the flowing pen over the white pages. Other times I’ve drawn, though it’s nothing anyone would want to look at!

What would you do with a beautiful, fresh notebook? Or what have you done? Please comment below and tell me: what would you like to create, or what have you created?

16 thoughts on “What’s Possible for YOU?

    • Oh I like that — rotating for different topics. I can see it. I still have all my old notebooks too. Oh, so nostalgic. I can pick one up and read and be right where I was when I wrote it. πŸ™‚

  1. Thanks for posting this! I love all your posts. Finally the real and honest truth! Amos 4-6 talks all about how the truth is never popular, but it’s still. the. truth. ❀

    to answer your question, I absolutely love to draw my notes. Words, verses, phrases, quotes, etc. I love to make a drawing out of them, or just draw the words in a cool way. It makes it more personal to me, and I can express however I interpret those words by what I draw them with.

    Blank notebooks are the best. I tend to start more notebooks than i do finish used ones!

  2. Thanks for posting this! I love all your posts. Finally the real and honest truth! Amos 4-6 talks all about how the truth is never popular, but it’s still. the. truth. ❀

    to answer your question, I absolutely love to draw my notes. Words, verses, phrases, quotes, etc. I love to make a drawing out of them, or just draw the words in a cool way. It makes it more personal to me, and I can express however I interpret those words by what I draw them with.

    Blank notebooks are the best. I tend to start more notebooks than i do finish used ones!

  3. Oh geez, what don’t I use notebooks for? I keep handwritten copies of all my blogs posts, I keep a journal, I fill them with notes from books I’ve read….about the only thing I don’t use them for is drawing, but that’s only because I’m not an artist. Love the concept of the “brain dump”!

  4. Love this beautiful picture. I want all those notebooks! Fed Ex is a wonderful (and most expensive) place for great notebooks, they seem to pick the best of the best. I cannot begin any new adventure without a notebook, no matter what it is. Each even requires it’s own journal, at the very least. But I love to have folder in the notebook, so I can keep odds and ends together.
    I really like the part about the brain, I’m going to intentionally dump more, so I’m free to create!

  5. I absolutely love reading your posts! thank you for writing online!
    To me, A blank notebook is for drawing. I love doodling and drawing what’s on my mind instead of writing! Even if the notebook is lined, I try incorporate the lines into the drawings. Sometimes i can’t find the right words and drawing helps get my brain moving! Endless possibilities with a blank notebook!

Leave a Reply

