P.S. I Love You

photo-7

I love you.

Really, I love you. I’m honored to be here with you. I’m grateful God has given me this opportunity to just love you. I mean that from the bottom of my heart.

I am on the outs with some of my family because of my work of FreedHearts, because of my love for you. (A few friends have left too, but I care less about that.)

I’ll be honest, it hurts, but frankly, I don’t care about any of that compared to the privilege I get — to love you, to show you the love you deserve to be shown, to remind you that the naysayers do not speak for God.

When you are tempted to despair of those you’ve lost, those who’ve walked away from you because they do not understand their privilege to love you, remember that they might be only responding to years of programming — from a misguided church but also from a homophobic culture — where they were programmed to be afraid.

To begin to see that Jesus is not at all like that church, that God is different (kinder) than you’ve been told all this time requires faith! The most religious naysayers do not really have strong, tenacious faith; their beliefs are held in place by fear.

You ARE loved. God loves you. I love you. As you are, as you were created.

I love that I get to talk to you every day, to share these ideas that come to my heart, and pour them out to you as encouragement and strength.

I love that you respond back, in friendship, and in the kind comments, thought-provoking, with your own fears and questions.

I love that God has brought us together. I really mean that.

I wouldn’t trade this privilege for anything.

All my love,

Susan

12 thoughts on “P.S. I Love You

  1. So glad God has you here for such a time as this….. thanks for all you do, for your loving, challenging posts. Thank you for all your love and support for the LGBTQ Community!Glad I found this Blog!!! Bless you!

  2. Thank you Susan for being there. I am so grateful that I found you and your book and blog were a beacon of light during a difficult time. I have found a lot of peace through your work and I has to be the fruit of the Spirit! Hugs!

  3. Hi Susan,

    Thank you so much for all you do here, your blogs are a daily source of relief, healing and wisdom for me. Here I’m learning to be unconditioned to think that there is something wrong with me. Even when church is too scary, I can come here and read your heartfelt posts and learn about the outrageous love that God is.

    Thank you so much for not just accepting your daughter quietly, but shouting it from the rooftops and letting others learn and grow from your own experience. Thank you for fighting this fight with us, at the cost of family relationships

    Thank you for starting this journey with us – I can’t wait to see where God leads us 🙂

    Love, Chloe

  4. Hi Susan

    Thank you so much for such an unabashed outpouring of love. I’m sorry you have lost friends and family over the ministry God’s given you.

    We sometimes think its too literal to see ourselves as an actual body of Christ, if so we may lose the richness of the analogy.
    In the human body resources are reallocated to the part that needs them urgently, so it would be the same then in the body of Christ too. So loss and separation is inevitable when you have to function differently then you have been before, but in the end it is for the health of the body as a whole.
    The loss in the temporal scheme of things may be acute and sharply painful, however in the supernatural it is merely a shift and a reallocation. I hope you can follow but I’m trying to explain something I can see clearly in my head but just can’t explain adequately

    I attached a link for a video of Graham Cooke called The Throne room. I hope it comforts you.

    Love you Susan, hey I’m your family too. We have the same Father 🙂

  5. Oh Susan…you are sooooooo VERY special and I am thankful every day to have you as a friend and I too love you very much..The picture is beautiful and you are.
    Joy

  6. We love you too….so very much. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    We are trusting God on our journey, and excited for you and for more truth as you go through Seminary!!!

    I am only about a year in on this journey, and I hope I grow to be as strong and as sure as you are. I admit I have a few days of confusion, doubt, sadness, crying, …….. are we on the truthful, righteous path? Are we twisting scripture? (I never read the entire Bible literally.) I too have lost friends and it is very painful. I keep seeking and keep praying and asking God to show me the way.
    My heart still aches and I still cry some for my gay son, but he says he is fine. I cry for the struggle and hate he may experience. He says he ignores those haters, and hangs around a few good folks. ( college students)

    I personally have never experienced so much pain that has gone on for so long. Sigh

    I guess I need reassurance that those carrying this around with them are okay?
    I can only imagine the pain of some of those in the LGBTQ community.
    They MUST know we love them, all of them!!! They are human beings, and they do matter!!!!!!

    ” I know I DO NOT want to be judged because I did not allow some one to seek Christ.”

    I often wonder how some of the folks who came to this sight, months ago, are doing?

    This sight has become almost like a PT job…..I don’t think I have ever done much research, not even in college.

    Changing my name to “Soap Box Samantha.” Oops…….I tend to preach.

    P.S. We love you SUSAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

