Jesus Blog: God Has No Expectations of You

okay

More today from my Saturday “Jesus Blog” – a word from Jesus to you…

There is nothing you can do to disappoint God, and there is nothing you can do to make God love you more.

God loves you.

Regardless of how well you think you are behaving. Regardless of how well others think you are behaving.

If you ever wonder, if you ever ask yourself the question: “Does God love me?” The answer is always, “Yes!”

Always.

When I was with you, the religious leaders got angry at me for healing someone on the sabbath, and they did not understand when I would not allow them to condemn a woman caught in adultery. They didn’t understand why I did not condemn her either.

Why?

They were focused on the law, on behavior, on their own expectations. So much so that they lost sight of the truth and the heart of God.

There are people like that today too – some are religious leaders, some are members of your own family.

I want you to know that they do not speak for God.

Listen to the Spirit of God inside you. Replace the voices of others, and maybe even your own voice, telling you that you are not good enough. Replace those voices with the truth that God loves you, as you are, unconditionally.

Nothing will ever change that.

6 thoughts on “Jesus Blog: God Has No Expectations of You

  1. Hi Susan,

    It’s been a while since we chatted … I think I know what you are trying to say here. It is important to combat shame and help people come to a place where they know they are loved by God.. However … while I do believe God loves us unconditionally I also believe He calls us to live a life as Christ lived. Thus, I believe He does have some expectations of us once we are in his love …. Here are a few passages that show this …

    Micah 6:8
    8 He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
    And what does the LORD require of you?
    To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly with your God.

    Matthew 16:24
    24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.

    Clearly Christ does expect things of us. I think you know this already. :) The problem of course is the, at times, unkind and condemning ways that some express just what that expectation is. If people could disagree graciously without crushing others it would be better for everyone as we journey in Christ.

    God bless,
    Dave

    • Dave, I appreciate your comment. It’s interesting to me where you went with this — you started by saying that while God loves us unconditionally, he calls us to live as Christ lived. At this juncture, many people start saying specific rules in the Bible they think they other person needs to follow. [In the context of FreedHearts, it’s often, “so you can’t be gay,” which is NOT TRUE.] But you went to the heart of Christ’s teaching: love, mercy, humility, self-sacrifice, which all come by following Christ. That is the beautiful thing: of course Jesus will grow us and mature us as we follow him. Thank God! Who’d want to be the same at 50 as they were at 20? But that doesn’t meant we don’t fully love and embrace the 20-year-old! Moreover, the only prerequisite is to the beautiful change God works in us is that we follow him. Period! I underemphasize the change because it comes naturally as you follow Christ, which is what I encourage people to do, and because so many Christians emphasize change they want to see instead of the following part. You said it beautifully, Dave. Thank you.

    • Hi Dave, it’s Rob. I so appreciate your comment, and also Susan’s reply. I just wanted to add my two cents. A couple “logistic” things – I have come to hear these not as expectations – i.e. us having the potential to NOT meet a requirement, disappointing God – but to hear these as INVITATIONS. Even some of the original/alternate language supports a “less than rigid” interpretation. In Matthew the word MUST does not appear in the original language, the interlinear translation says “LET HIM deny himself”. For me, this feels much more like an invitation than a requirement/expectation, and seems to fall better in line with an unconditionally loving God. 🙂 As always, love your heart Dave – so appreciate your comments : )

  2. the anti-LGBTQ stance of the church in my country and the kind of environment i grew up in makes it hard for me to accept this… but i want this love, this pure, unconditional acceptance from God. i hope one day i will be able to fully accept this wonderful truth. thank you for posting.

    • I hope so too, Odee. I know many people have been lied to about this, which is why I’m compelled to write it. In the still quiet of your heart, ask: Do you love me like this, God? And let the answer come. If you don’t hear it, keep asking, keep listening. You are most welcome, and much love to you. Susan

Leave a Reply

